The Reason for the Change

A few months ago I decided I hated my blog. I hated everything about it (except the design because I made that myself and I’m actually pretty proud of it). I hated the title. I hated the content. I hated what it turned into. It was a running blog slash lifestyle blog slash it really had no direction. It was annoying and it sucked.

So I started this new one.

When I started the old one, I was about to start training for my first full marathon and I wanted to document the experience. Spoiler alert: three years later, I still have not run a full marathon. I have attempted training for the full three separate times. For various reasons, life got in the way and I never got past the 15 mile long run week.

My relationship with running has changed over the years and now completing a full marathon isn’t my priority anymore. Honestly, I was getting bogged down in the training plans, the set backs, and the need I felt to ultimately complete this goal. Running (and the blog) turned into something I had to do instead of something I wanted to do. When my running starting sucking, so did the blog. I turned to filler posts, random link ups designed to boost follower counts, and posts about Pinterest stuff. Disclaimer: not that there is anything wrong with those if that is what you want your blog to be; it just wasn’t for me. I hardly talked about running anymore and when I did it was lame.

The thought of trying to fix what I had turned the old blog into annoyed me. Starting fresh is easier and makes me happier. So here we are.

I saw the phrase “Celebrate Every Mile” on a race medal holder. It stuck with me because that is how I feel about running these days. It’s more about getting out and enjoying the run than it is about training to complete a marathon.

Which is still a goal by the way. It’s in the back of my mind as something I will do someday, just not today. I am sure there will be a time in my life when the marathon is something I feel ready to tackle. A marathon isn’t one of those things I can force to happen, and I finally learned to stop trying to force it to happen.

I hope you stay around and enjoy the new and much improved blog. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Reason for the Change

  1. Amanda Bumgarner May 28, 2014 / 8:39 pm

    I need to repeat that phrase to myself. Running and I are NOT getting along right now. But it is a celebration of every mile we get to be out there. I hope you can enjoy running (and blogging!) and create a space you love.

    Like

    • Julie May 29, 2014 / 12:27 pm

      Exactly! I hope you can start to get along with running again. Going through running slumps really gets me down, but it all works out in the end. 🙂

      Like

  2. Army Amy June 3, 2014 / 5:26 pm

    There’s a time and place for huge crazy goals, but there is also nothing wrong with taking it one goal, one race, one run at a time. (And holy cow – with the heat we have now – Imma need you to keep me motivated!) I also adore the idea of celebrating every mile, and your tag line is great, too!

    Like

    • Julie June 4, 2014 / 5:37 pm

      It got so hot so fast! Crazy!

      On Tue, Jun 3, 2014 at 5:26 PM, Celebrate Every Mile wrote:

      >

      Like

I love hearing from you!

