National Running Day!

In case you missed it, yesterday was National Running Day!

In honor of the holiday, I ran an extremely hot, extremely sweaty 4 miler in the morning. Except I should have run it earlier in the morning because I spent the rest of the day feeling a little crappy. Yay for dehydration headaches!

Temps here in El Paso are already in the triple digits. I think the high yesterday was 108*F. That’s pretty warm… I’m usually not one to complain about the heat (because I complain about the cold) but damn, it got hot really fast! Seems like just last week I could still run in the mid-morning and not feel like I was going to die.

I saw this when I got in my car the other day. I just laughed.
I saw this when I left work the other day. I just laughed.

My plan (tentative plan, mind you) was to get up early enough to start running around 8. Well… I fell asleep on the couch Tuesday night because Matt was out in the field doing Army stuff and I was watching Friends on Nick at Nite (don’t judge me). So I overslept a little and  I woke up at 8:15. I didn’t make it out to run until almost 9:30 am and I’m pretty sure it was already 95* out. In hindsight, I probably should have dragged my butt to the gym, but I’m not always that smart. Also, treadmills suck.

My training plan was supposed to be mile repeats, but no. That certainly wasn’t going to happen. I’m just happy I ran all 4 miles (however ugly the last one might have been).

If you follow me on Instagram, you probably already saw this picture. If you don't...you probably should.
If you follow me on Instagram, you probably already saw this picture. If you don’t…you probably should.

All in all, it was a good day way to celebrate National Running Day! I hear today is National Donut Day… I should probably celebrate that one too. 😉

7 thoughts on “National Running Day!

  1. Samantha Burton June 5, 2014 / 8:01 am

    You know I won’t be judging you for watching Friends on Nick at Nite…b/c really anyone who judges you for that well…you know how I feel about that hahah!

    Like

    • Julie June 5, 2014 / 5:12 pm

      Haha true, true. Your face was priceless when you found out Matt didn’t like Friends…

      Like

  2. Rebecca Jo June 5, 2014 / 10:13 am

    You’re tougher then me! if its over 85, my butt is on the treadmill with a fan blowing on me 🙂

    Like

    • Julie June 5, 2014 / 5:13 pm

      Haha you are definitely smarter than me! That is exactly what I should have done!

      Like

  3. Rebecca Jo June 6, 2014 / 7:33 am

    Just wanted to make sure you got my message – T25 is a 60 day program that is a set of DVD’s that work out the body but its only 25 minutes each day for 6 days 🙂 I really love it… its expensive (boo!) for the set, but it’ll be nice to have for cross training when I’m through the whole program.

    Like

  4. Army Amy June 9, 2014 / 7:49 am

    I thought this week was supposed to be cooler, but after checking, no, not really. Unless you consider 100 degrees to be cooler. I mean, I guess technically it is, but ugh. So over this heat.

    Like

    • Julie June 9, 2014 / 3:13 pm

      It just got SO HOT SO FAST! Usually we get a little time to acclimatize to it. Nope, not this year!

      On Mon, Jun 9, 2014 at 7:49 AM, Celebrate Every Mile wrote:

      >

      Like

I love hearing from you!

