Five Things Friday [Birthday Edition]

Five of the things floating around in my head today:

1. It’s my birthday! 

I’m slowly getting closer and closer to 30. That’s scary and weird and a little depressing all at the same time. I certainly don’t feel old enough to be 28, but then I hang out with someone who is 25 and I think, “Yep, I’m old.”

1734419322_157993003_nvitations_xlarge_xlarge

2. Someone is stealing from my car port. 

Matt had my birthday present sent to the apartment. Yesterday, we realized it was delivered on Tuesday, but it was nowhere to be found. I can’t even tell you how angry I am about this. Not just because it was my birthday present (and since I know what it is now, I know it was awesome), but because this is the third thing to go missing. In March, I had running shoes delivered to the apartment that I never received. I wrote it off as “shit happens” because it does and I was taken care of by the shoe company. In May, our Gatorade ice chest was stolen from us. I told the apartment manager, but there wasn’t much she could do. Then this week, another package that was confirmed delivered (by a different delivery service) was nowhere to be found. Clearly,  there is a pattern here. I no longer think that first missing package was a “shit happens” incident. I’m pissed. The apartment manager is “looking into it and making some calls” but I don’t know what that is going to do…

3. I’m house hunting! (sort of)

In light of yesterday’s events, I no longer want to live in this apartment. I don’t want to live somewhere where my things get stolen and I can’t have packages delivered. I spent a large portion of the afternoon browsing houses for rent in our area. Matt even seems on board with this plan. Our lease is up in August, but if I can get out of it sooner I would move tomorrow. Even if we end up staying here (because moving is a hassle and we probably live here more than a year), looking at houses is fun. It’s fun to look at the pictures and imagine what we could do with it. Also, I found a house on Fort Worth Street. I want to move there because…duh.

4. I ordered my Erin Condren Life Planner yesterday!

Another reason I love my birthday week is because it’s the week the new Erin Condren Life Planners are released. This will be my third one and I’m still in love. I was more than a little annoyed that they got rid of the academic year calendar option (my favorite option so I can get a new one when the new ones come out) so I had to go with the 18 month planner. I’ve come to terms with it because she now has interchangeable covers. I’m also apparently a drama queen.

The cover I chose for this year!
The cover I chose for this year!

5. TCU’s Baseball team made it to Omaha!

Working baseball at TCU is my favorite memory and my favorite year in college. I have a super soft spot for that team even though the players are different and I no longer on anyone on the team. They have been on a roll since the beginning of April and (something like a 32-4 record).  The College World Series starts tomorrow. I can’t wait!

 

Y’all have a great weekend! Any fun plans to celebrate my birthday for me? 🙂

I love hearing from you!

