[Tentative] Fall Races

I figure it is probably about time I let y’all in on what I have planned for the fall. I hinted at it when I talked about running a 5k and immediately going home to plan more races, but here are the specifics.

August 16: 10 Miler in the Heat

Last years Facebook cover photo.
Last years Facebook cover photo.

Amy actually suggested this race to me, and it didn’t take too much convincing before I was on board. I have never run a 10 mile race so it will be an automatic PR, and I do love a PR! 🙂 August in El Paso will definitely be hot, but if I train outside through the summer, I don’t think heat will be too much of a problem. The race is being held at Fort Bliss which means it will be FLAT! I do love a flat course. To sum it up, flat course with a friend that will be a PR. Yes. Yes, I will sign up for that.

To train for this race, I am following a Smart Coach plan. Runner’s World has this nifty calculator that takes all the variables you input and spits out a training plan “tailored to you.” I like it though. I’ve used it a couple of times now and it is really good for building a base and increasing mileage.

October 25: Flying Horse Half Marathon

Source
Source

Yep, that’s right. I finally have another half marathon on the schedule. I’m pretty damn excited.

Since it looks like Matt will do this Army thing for a while, I’ve decided to take the next few (or 30) years to see how many states I can run a half marathon (or a full, I supposed, if I ever get to that) in. I’m not going to officially announce it as a 50-state challenge (yet), but who knows what it will turn in to (probably a 50-state challenge). That being said, the great thing about this particular race is that it begins and ends in New Mexico but it is about 15 minutes down the road from where I live. Win!

To train for this race, I am going to switch to the Run Less, Run Faster program. I will have 9 weeks between races, and I plan on taking one week completely off. Since I will already have a really good mileage base, I plan on doing the last 8 weeks of the RLRF half marathon plan to build speed and confidence going into this race.

I have considered attempting a full marathon in the spring, but the one I have my eye on (The Cowtown) is at the end of February and I wouldn’t have much time off in between the Flying Horse and the start of marathon training. So that is still way up in the air. I’m going to get through October and see how I feel.

What races do y’all have on the schedule? How far out do you make your race/training schedule? I feel like planning for spring races is getting ahead of myself a bit.

6 thoughts on “[Tentative] Fall Races

  1. Army Amy June 16, 2014 / 3:43 pm

    Yay! Your races are now “blog official.” LOL! I’m really excited about the 10 miler. I don’t think I’d considered the fact that it’s an automatic PR. Woot! Heaven knows I’m overdue for a PR. It will be my first race on post, which I can’t believe considering how long I’ve lived here.

    I’ve got my fingers crossed for Flying Horse, too. (I love their logo!) Any time I mention the race to someone who has run it, they only have good things to say.

    Like

    • Julie June 16, 2014 / 3:48 pm

      I’ve got my fingers crossed you can do the Flying Horse too! Making it “blog official” is a little scary! I feel like I can’t back out now…. Haha.

      On Mon, Jun 16, 2014 at 3:43 PM, Celebrate Every Mile wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Amanda Bumgarner June 16, 2014 / 5:57 pm

    I think maybe planning spring races is getting too far ahead 🙂 But I actually don’t have anything on my fall schedule except a Tough Mudder in October. I am dying to get a half marathon scheduled, but I’m waiting for just the right one.

    Like

    • Julie June 17, 2014 / 11:47 am

      My boyfriend did a Tough Mudder a while back, and he had a blast! I know what you mean about waiting for the right race. The training is a big commitment and it becomes easier when the race is the “perfect race.”

      On Mon, Jun 16, 2014 at 5:57 PM, Celebrate Every Mile wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Samantha Burton June 16, 2014 / 8:05 pm

    Register for Cowtown and I’ll make a sign and cheer you on…loudly! 🙂

    Like

    • Julie June 17, 2014 / 11:45 am

      I’m tempted to go for it JUST so you can make me a sign. 🙂

      On Mon, Jun 16, 2014 at 8:05 PM, Celebrate Every Mile wrote:

      >

      Like

I love hearing from you!

