Runners Tell All: Favorite Running Memory

 

This months Runners Tell All link up theme is to share your favorite or proudest running moment. While I think completing a half marathon is something to be proud of, it is not my favorite running memory.

Back in 2010, when I was training for my first half, I was a total newbie. I didn’t even know what a Garmin was. I would track my distance and time by creating a route on Map My Run (or similar) and then time the run by using the stop watch feature on my regular Nike watch. Fancy, I know.

I kind of blindly followed my training plan (provided by Runner’s World Smart Coach) and I definitely wasn’t over-thinking anything because I didn’t know there was anything more to training than just running. I almost miss being that naive about the whole process. I think I enjoyed it more because I wasn’t constantly worried about distance, pace, speed, fuel, gear, etc. I just ran. It was nice.

Anyway, I was training for the Cowtown Half which always takes place the last week of February. As a result, my training took place in the cold, cold winter (I lived in north Louisiana at the time, so cold is relative). One particular weekend, weather got really bad and we had icy flurries on and off for a couple of days.

Being the wimp that I am, I had zero desire to run 8 miles in temps that cold with icy flurries/rain coming down, but I was also convinced if I did not complete every single long run I would fail miserably on race day. So I had the bright idea to run the indoor track at the college I was attending. Sounds smart, right?

Wrong. The track is 1/16 of a mile long. I had to buy a pitch counter to keep track of my laps because I usually lose count after 3 and there is no way I would have kept track of that many laps.

I ran 128 laps around this little track. I got a lot of crazy looks from the people lifting down below and the gym staff because I just kept going in circles.

It was completely crazy; I would never do it again. But, it is my favorite running memory. When I finished, I had giant blisters on my arches from the constant turning motion.

I love telling that story. It always makes me smile and shake my head a little. I love how dedicated and “run at all costs” I used to be.

 

So, there you have it. My favorite running memory. What’s yours?

 

13 thoughts on “Runners Tell All: Favorite Running Memory

  1. therfpscribe June 23, 2014 / 3:46 pm

    Doing my first 20 mile long run on a treadmill in preparation for my first marathon. Dad rang me and talked for 15 minutes nonstop, suddenly paused and asked “what is that sound?” It required an answer so I gave up trying to eat my banana and said “I’m running, but don’t stop talking, I can still listen”. Dad was not impressed.

    Like

    • Julie June 23, 2014 / 3:50 pm

      Haha, that’s a great story. and… WOW! 20 miles on a treadmill is impressive! I can barely manage 3 miles on a treadmill before going stir crazy.

      Like

      • therfpscribe June 23, 2014 / 9:23 pm

        The enthusiasm of a newbie leads to unmatched madness.

        Like

  2. Allison June 23, 2014 / 6:05 pm

    Wow, that is some dedication! Definitely one of the stories that only other runners understand, because I’m shaking my head going “yeah, that’s crazy, but…I get why you did it.”

    Like

    • Julie June 24, 2014 / 7:57 am

      Haha yes! It is definitley one of those stories that only runners understand.:)

      Like

  3. Amanda Bumgarner June 23, 2014 / 8:11 pm

    This reminds me of the time I ran 20 miles on a treadmill as one of my last long runs before my marathon. It was icy as crap, and I could not go outside, so I set up shop in the gym for 3+ hours. We’re all completely insane! But I love it.

    Like

    • Julie June 24, 2014 / 7:56 am

      I cannot imagine doing 20 miles on a treadmilll! That is so intense. Did you watch TV or read a book to pass the time?

      Like

    • therfpscribe June 25, 2014 / 10:40 am

      Was it your first marathon too? I find that newbies tend to have tunnel vision i.e. if the training plan says 20 miles, I’m gonna do 20 miles. I mean, running 20 miles for the first time is daunting, so I think it makes little difference how it’s done. Treadmill vs outdoors is just detail when “OMG 20 miles! I’m gonna die!”

      Like

  4. kari June 24, 2014 / 5:29 am

    I was a Map-My-Run user for a while too. 🙂 I love that your favorite memory is of an incredibly hard workout. Running laps on indoor tracks is intense!

    Like

    • Julie June 24, 2014 / 7:54 am

      It is always the hard workouts that stick with us the most, I think.

      Like

  5. Army Amy June 24, 2014 / 7:48 pm

    You get ultimate bragging rights for doing this! 128 laps is insanity! I love your dedication to training. I need a hearty dose of that as the 10 miler gets closer!

    Like

  6. Beka June 25, 2014 / 4:13 pm

    Oh man! I have done the running in circles but never that long!!! I also think that people always look at me like I’m crazy when I run on an indoor track over and over and over =). Good job on that training run!

    Like

    • Julie June 27, 2014 / 12:29 pm

      Thank you! Yeah, the looks (or comments) we get as runners can be pretty incredulous, but I think it only fuels the fire. Haha.

      Like

I love hearing from you!

