It’s Race Week!

Hey y’all!

It’s been over a month since my last post. Crazy how time flies. The biggest lesson I learned from my other blog was not to post random shit when I didn’t have anything to say. Those were the posts that I ended up hating the most.

Anyway…

It’s race week here! The 10 Miler in the Heat is on Saturday. For a long time I wasn’t sure if this race was going to happen. I had some terrible long runs and felt sick for a couple weeks. It was a pretty big confidence killer. I was toying with the idea of pulling out of this race and just focusing on the half marathon in October.

But, since I’m stubborn that didn’t happen. Then we had some unexpected (at least to me) storms roll through El Paso. The storms dropped the temperatures and increased the humidity. Just my kind of running weather. I’m weird and seems to thrive when the temps are in the 80’s and there is some humidity in the air. Pretty opposite of every other runner ever, but hey, it works for me.

Two Saturday’s ago, I met up with Wear Blue: Run to Remember (this group deserves it’s own blog post – spoiler: I love them). Several people in this group (including the fabulous Amy) are also doing the 10 mile race so we have been doing the long runs together. The rain was fairly steady, but not too bad. We huddled under the tree before taking our weekly photo and setting out.

It was the best 9 mile run ever.

Sorry if you follow my Instagram and have already seen this. (Not really, I love this picture)
Sorry if you follow my Instagram and have already seen this. (Not really, I love this picture)

Well, maybe not ever, but in my recent memory. It rained off and on, but I felt good the entire time. After weeks of feeling like crap I really needed that run. That one run was pretty much the reason I decided to go ahead and go for the race. I know I have the ability to run 10 miles. I just don’t know how pretty it will be. I wish I felt more prepared going into it, but that’s okay.

I don’t have any specific time goals. My goal is to start conservatively and pick it up at the end.

As a last minute surprise, Matt had decided to run too! Some of the guys he works with are going to do it, so he registered for it as well. Hopefully he gets some good pictures of me. It will give him something to do while he waits for me to finish since he runs so much faster than me.

Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “It’s Race Week!

  1. Army Amy August 13, 2014 / 9:03 pm

    I love that picture, too, and I’m damn proud of us for being so awesome! Race day is going to be fun. At least that’s what I keep telling myself. My long runs have been solid (not all great but not terrible). The issue, however, is that my short weekday runs are awful! Not sure what that means or what to do about it. It’s just making me miserable.

    Like

    • Julie August 15, 2014 / 2:39 pm

      I think you have enough base fitness that you will have no problem! Don’t let it make you miserable. Once you get into a routine at school (and the weather cools off a bit) I’m sure your weekly runs will pick back up!

      On Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 9:03 PM, Celebrate Every Mile wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Amanda Bumgarner August 17, 2014 / 7:21 pm

    That is such a great picture! I hope your race went well ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Julie August 18, 2014 / 9:26 am

      Thank you! The race went really well! I’m working on a race recap to post soon! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      On Sun, Aug 17, 2014 at 7:21 PM, Celebrate Every Mile wrote:

      >

      Like

I love hearing from you!

