Five Things Friday [Flying Horse Edition]

Five random things on my mind today…
1.
I am currently training for a half marathon in October called the Flying Horse. I don’t really feel like I’m in training though. I don’t have that sense of urgency or intensity that I usually do during a training cycle when there is a big goal race as the end goal. It’s weird. I hope it ends up going okay come race day.

2.
I am using the Run Less, Run Faster program to train for this race. This is the first time I’ve used it “officially” and I have mixed feelings about it. On the one hand, I like running 3 days a week and I like all of the speed work. On the other hand, all the runs are a challenge and it takes me a long time to work up the mental energy to get out of the car and get started. Maybe it would feel more like a training cycle if I ran 4 times a week like I used to.

3.
I have been running all the long runs with Amy. That has been a live saver in this process.

4.
I still haven’t registered for the race. I really need to get on the ball with this one so I don’t make the same mistake I did with the 8k. You would think I would learn… But it doesn’t seem that way.

5.
I am having a hard time getting the fueling right before and after the long runs. I know what I like during the run (nuun in my water and clif shot blocks), but I either don’t eat enough or eat too much before hand. Nutrition is tricky.

Have a good weekend!

2 thoughts on “Five Things Friday [Flying Horse Edition]

  1. Army Amy September 29, 2014 / 6:53 pm

    REGISTER! Flying Horse won’t be half as fun with you there!

    I didn’t realize you were playing with your fueling. We should talk about this the next time we run together. I love talking about fuel.

    Like

    • Army Amy September 29, 2014 / 7:12 pm

      PS I was listening to a Jillian Michaels podcast while I wrote this comment. After I hit “post comment,” she started talking about fueling! Might be worth a listen!

      Like

I love hearing from you!

