The Worst Run in the History of EVER

What? A bit dramatic? No, I don’t think so at all.

As I mentioned last post, I am training for the Flying Horse Half Marathon. Buuuuut, I’m going to use the term “training” pretty loosely. I’m running three times a week just like my training plan tells me to. Except it seems that a good number of my training runs have been shorter than planned. Oops? Basically, I’ve been relying on my base fitness and general athleticism to get me through. Up until today.

The long run this week is supposed to be 12 miles. Since the 10 miler in the Heat, I’ve run plenty of 8 and 9 milers and maybe one 10 miler. But nothing longer than that. It was really important that I do all 12 miles this time.

Earlier this week, I was asked to run by a new-to-the-area wife. I’m trying to be a joiner and meet more people, so this seemed like a good opportunity. I met up with her and her friend this morning. They were running 10 miles in preparation for a half marathon that is a couple weeks after mine. I figured I would do 10 with them, and tack on the last two on my own. Good plan, right?

My body had other plans.

We set off and through 7 miles everything was fantastic. At 7, the other woman needed to stop and told us to go on without her. That was probably the signal of bad things to come. I think miles 7 and 8 were a steady uphill with no relief. I hate going uphill. I am such a wimp because this hill took so much out of me. Shortly after, I needed a walk break. Then another. Then another. I’m screaming at myself in my head because 8 miles should be no problem for me. It usually isn’t. We got to the top of the hill and I had to bail on my new friend. I told her to go on without me while I ducked into the gas station to use the restroom.

Y’all.

I have never crashed like that before. My stomach was in knots and cramping like crazy. I was nauseous. I was a little dizzy and getting chills. I ended up walking the almost 4 miles back to my car. Every time I tried to run again, I felt sicker and sicker.

I’ve been thinking about this all day trying to figure out what went wrong. I ate really good yesterday. I could have drank more water, but I could always drink more water. I didn’t take my handheld water bottle with me today, but on my last long run I didn’t even use it. I could probably go on forever analyzing what I did wrong and never quite figure it out.

I don’t know what this means for my half marathon. I’ve already registered and have no intention of backing out. Do I just go slow? Do I run by feel? Do I just do whatever Amy is going to do and try to hang on? If I was feeling a little nervous before, I’m feeling a lot nervous now…and maybe slightly panicky. I even thought about trying the 12 miler again on Sunday (what is supposed to be a 7 mile tempo…), but that probably isn’t the smartest idea.

So…someone talk me out of it? Okay, thanks.

8 thoughts on “The Worst Run in the History of EVER

  1. Megan Wadsworth October 9, 2014 / 3:38 pm

    Sounds pretty low blood sugary to me. Did you bring any fuel with you on the run and eat enough that morning?

    Like

    • Julie October 9, 2014 / 3:45 pm

      I had cereal for breakfast. Which is more than I usually eat pre-run….

      Like

  2. Samantha Burton October 10, 2014 / 4:47 pm

    Well…this is why I won’t run farther than 3 miles right now lol! I’m anxious just reading this! I’m sure you’ll be fine and it’ll all work out!

    Like

    • Julie October 14, 2014 / 12:32 pm

      Noooo!!! Don’t let my crappy run discourage you! You were doing so good at the C25k!

      Like

  3. therfpscribe October 11, 2014 / 4:05 pm

    If you don’t normally eat pre-run, I’m guessing it could be that, especially if 1) the cereal contained fibre and 2) there wasn’t enough time between the meal and the run. Anything more than a handful of solids kills my guts, and I’ve even had bad runs from eating too much the night before.
    Don’t let this discourage you! Yes, run by feel (that’s always a good idea no matter how fit/unfit you are), and consider spacing your meal and run out, and choosing something more easily digestible.
    All the best!

    Like

    • Julie October 14, 2014 / 12:33 pm

      Thanks for the tips! The cereal I ate was pretty fiber-heavy. I didn’t even think about that…

      Like

  4. Army Amy October 11, 2014 / 4:08 pm

    I think this is my least favorite running thing: the inexplicably bad run. Those are the pits! But, they are directly related to my favorite running thing: the inexplicably good run. Just don’t let it mess with your head. (Easier said than done, right? The 2nd half of my 12 miler was hard, so I’m doubting my entire existence now. LOL!) Move on from this run, lets make the last 2 weeks of training strong, and we’ll discuss race strategy next week at Wear Blue!

    Like

    • Julie October 14, 2014 / 12:35 pm

      Bouncing back from a spectacularly shitty run is difficult… I took an extra day off running. Did the speed run this morning, and it went okay. Looking forward to venting it out this Saturday! Haha.

      Like

I love hearing from you!

