Adventures in Quilting

Lest y’all think my only hobby is running, I am here to set the record straight.

When I first moved to El Paso, I didn’t handle working part-time very well. I had too much time on my hands, and it made me antsy, bored, and grumpy. One of my friends suggested I get a hobby to help fill my free time. Because, you know, there is only so much time a person can spend running or working out before it becomes a problem…or burnout sets in.

So I bought a sewing machine, and with the help of Pinterest, I have been teaching myself how to quilt. I have been doing this for almost a year now (I bought my machine when I was home for Thanksgiving last year), and I must say, I have become a little obsessed.

I have made several small projects like placements and table runners. I made an American Flag to hang on our wall (and I even made one of these for my best friend!). But now, I am venturing into the world of real quilting. By real quilting, I mean a quilt made with blocks and borders and it will be a queen size when it’s all finished. Which brings me to my new (possibly semi-regular) feature: Work In Progress Wednesday. YAY!

Out of all the projects I’ve done so far, I’ve given all but two of them away. I kept a set of placements for us (plus the American Flag wall quilt). Matt asked me to make a quilt that we could use on our bed. So I’m giving it my best shot. This is, by far, the biggest project I’ve attempted (in size and skill).

I’m using this pattern by Kristin Gassaway. I tweaked it a bit to make it fit what I wanted. I’m using a variety of blue fabrics with Kona Bone as my background. I also increased the block size from a 9″ finished square to a 15″ finished square to accommodate making this into a queen size quilt.

My goal is to take my time with this and not try to rush it. I’m a little worried about quilting this giant thing on my little beginner sewing machine, but the lovely ladies at my local quilt shop tell me it can be done. I am still on the piecing part of quilt making, so I shouldn’t even be worried about that yes, but go figure, I am.

Here is what I’ve got so far.

1 block down. 29 more to go.
1 block down. 29 more to go.
2 thoughts on “Adventures in Quilting

  1. Army Amy November 5, 2014 / 7:18 pm

    Such a pretty block! (Am I using the quilting terminology correctly?) My mom made me a quilt that is blue and yellow. I spent 75% of my couch time under it. I so wish I could make stuff. If I could, everyone I know would be getting homemade gifts for the rest of their lives. 😉

    Like

    • Julie November 6, 2014 / 8:55 am

      Thank you! My mom (and Matt’s mom) should only expect quilted things from me from now on. Plus, when my friends start popping out babies, they are going to get a baby quilt. Predictable maybe, but more fun! There is still time for you to learn how to crochet!,

      Like

I love hearing from you!

