Runners Tell All: Recap and Goals

For the last Runners Tell All link up of the year, we are recapping 2014 and talking about our goals for 2015. Sounds like a perfect opportunity for a bullet-point post.

2014 Recap:

  • We lived in El Paso for the full year, and it took a while, but I finally got into a some kind of running routine and mostly acclimated to the dry, elevated climate here. But not the hills. Is it ever possible to get used to the hills?
  • I took a very laid back approach to running this year. My training plans were more likes “suggestions” and I stopped beating myself up for missing/cutting short/doing terrible on a run.
  • Races: one half marathon (the Flying Horse); one 10 miler (10 Miler in the Heat); an 8k (Fort Bliss Holiday 8k); anda couple of5ks (Turkey Trot, Hop for Health)
    • I apparently don’t recap the smaller distance races. That’s a shame. I should start.
  • I got involved with a wonderful running community (Wear Blue: Run to Remember). They make long runs significantly more enjoyable.
  • I ran a total of 462 miles (as of today) for the year. That’s about 100 miles less than the average of my last 5 years. So a little disappointing.

2015 Goals:

  • I have a spring half marathon on the schedule. I can’t share it with you yet because our PCS orders are not official-official and I don’t want to make the location public knowledge yet. But, I will say, it’s a big race, I’ve heard great things about it, and I’m pretty pumped about getting to do this one. I want to aim for a PR here.
  • Even though the laid back approach to running was nice, I want to get back into a more disciplined mindset this coming up year. I feel like I need that.
  • Run more than 462 miles.
  • Write recaps for the shorter races.
  • Will 2015 finally be the year I run a full marathon? I don’t know yet, but I’m not ruling it out a fall marathon.

Lastly, I have a question for you. I’m writing up a running bucket list that includes major races (for my unofficial 50 state challenge). I have a few in mind in a couple states, but what is your favorite-can’t-miss-must-do race that I should add to my list?

11 thoughts on “Runners Tell All: Recap and Goals

  1. Meagan December 22, 2014 / 9:36 am

    I love the goal of a half marathon PR in 2015! That’s my favorite distance. In a way my 2015 goals are opposite of you. I’m ready for a less structured year of running, and just getting out on the trails on the weekends and running what I feel.

    If you do decide to run a full marathon, I highly suggest Marine Corps! I had an amazing experience there thus year. Plus your group, Wear Blue: Run to Remember, was hugely represented. So you’d have lots of extra support from them 🙂

    Like

    • Julie December 30, 2014 / 1:30 pm

      Ooh the Marine Corps Marathon would be great! THe Cherry Blossom 10-miler is already on my bucket list. Or really any race in the DC area. They all seem awesome.

      Like

  2. Alison December 22, 2014 / 9:56 am

    I think those are some great goals! My 2015 goal is to run a full, so I think you could and should do it. ;o)

    I’m a big fan of the Grandma’s race series in Duluth, MN. The half was tons of fun, the crowds are great, and there’s tons going on in the area for that entire weekend. Check it out!

    Like

    • Julie December 30, 2014 / 1:31 pm

      Thanks for the marathon suggestion! I will definitely be checking that out!

      Like

  3. Army Amy December 23, 2014 / 10:51 am

    I thought your total mileage was pretty impressive! And the races were all pretty darn good, too. I don’t know that any of them were your fastest, but I know first hand that some of them were especially fun!

    I’ll also chime in with all the positive peer pressure to go for the full. I have a guess for what you might be eyeing, but I’m excited to get to talk to you about it and find out for sure!

    Like

    • Julie December 30, 2014 / 1:29 pm

      These were absolutely some of my favorite races! Can’t beat a good run with good company. Are you sure you can’t come with when we PCS?

      Like

  4. Amanda December 23, 2014 / 2:46 pm

    Your 204 year sounds similar to mine. Here’s to bigger and more running in 2015! My two must-run races are the Oklahoma City Memorial race in April and the Ft Worth Cowtown in Texas in Fevruary. Love those!

    Like

    • Amanda December 23, 2014 / 2:49 pm

      Autocorrect killed me on this comment. I hope you will forgive me 🙂

      Like

    • Julie December 30, 2014 / 1:27 pm

      Thanks for your marathon suggestions! Cowtown is my favorite race! It was my first half marathon and is in my hometown. I have heard really good things about the Oklahoma Memorial Marathon from a lot of people. I will have to check that one out.

      Autocorrect gets the best of us. 🙂

      Like

  5. jensmith85 December 26, 2014 / 9:05 pm

    You did amazing with your mileage!! I say go for a 2015 marathon! 🙂

    Like

    • Julie December 30, 2014 / 1:25 pm

      Thanks Jen! I am very tempted by the full marathon. We’ll see how it goes!

      Like

I love hearing from you!

