2014 in Books

You may or may not have noticed, but a while back I threw a 1001 Books page up there. I never said anything about it or drew attention to it because it is something I keep track of for me. However, now seems like as good a time as any to talk about it.

Several years ago I was looking for something new to read and I stumbled across the 1001 Books to Read Before you Die list. It’s actually a book…but for convenience sake, I’m calling it a list. Because I love crossing things off a list, I decided I would read my way through all 1001 books. (If you click on the page, it goes into a little more detail about the list and why there are actually 1305 books.) Will I read all the books? Probably not, only half the books I read this year came from the list. But, if nothing else, I would always have something to read, I will probably read books I never would have otherwise, and I still get to cross things off a list.

At the beginning of the year I set a goal of reading 20 books for the year.

I read 21 books. (Including Atlas Shrugged…which is so long that it should count twice.) I WIN!

Books I read in picture form. Because I'm too lazy to write the list out and no one would read it anyway.
Books I read in picture form. Because I’m too lazy to write the list out and no one would read it anyway.

My favorites: The Harry Potter series (which I re-read for the 179th time); Atlas Shrugged (not everyone’s cup of tea, but I really liked the message); The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Agatha Christie gained a new fan)

My least favorites: Almost Transparent Blue (it was weird…a little too weird)

The theme of this year seemed to be dystopian/political novels (Animal Farm, 1984, Brave New World, Fahrenheit 451, Atlas Shrugged). Basically, I’m convinced that all these authors can see the future and we are all doomed. Okay, maybe not that extreme, but I found it fascinating how accurate some aspects of these books are today when they were written decades ago.

What did you read this year that you absolutely loved? I’m thinking of setting my book reading goal for 2015 to 25 books. Pretty big time. (You can follow me on GoodReads if you are interested in seeing my actual reviews of these books. Or I’ll probably end up copying Amy and do a monthly feature recapping the books I read that month in 2015.)

6 thoughts on “2014 in Books

    • Julie January 6, 2015 / 12:30 pm

      I re-read them every other year or so. I love it!

      Like

  1. Army Amy December 30, 2014 / 7:21 pm

    I love book posts! You read a ton this year, but I also think 25 is totally doable. I saw that another blogger (Bookishly Boisterous) has a page total goal instead of a book total. I’m considering it since I admittedly shied away from really long books for fear that they’d slow me down too much. But I’d love to read both Atlas Shrugged and Cloud Atlas. (I passed over both of those this year due to their length.) I might also look up that Agatha Christie book. I don’t normally gravitate toward mystery, but I also find that I usually really like them.

    Like

    • Julie January 6, 2015 / 12:30 pm

      A page count goal is a really good idea. I like it!

      Like

  2. jensmith85 January 4, 2015 / 1:21 pm

    That is a lot of books, I really slacked on reading last year. I have already started Unbroken this year and am loving it so far.

    Like

    • Julie January 6, 2015 / 12:30 pm

      Have you watched the movie yet? I’ve heard really good things about it…

      Like

I love hearing from you!

