2015 Race Plans!

It’s the end of May, and I am just now sharing my race plans for this year. In my defense, the spring was pretty up in the air not knowing the exact timeline of our Fort Knox move. I had to play the waiting game a bit. Now… I’m here, I’m settled (mostly…it’s not like we’ve unpacked or anything), and I’m ready to talk about my plans.

I don’t really feel like there is any need for further build up, so here it is: My goal race for 2015: the Air Force Half Marathon on September 19 in Dayton, Ohio. I’d love to throw some shorter races in the mix, but we’ll see what Kentucky has to offer…

Capture

I’ve only got one race on the calendar because I want to PR. Not only do I want to PR [anything less than 2:07:49] I want to knock a couple minutes off. I’m officially telling the world (or the 6 of you who read my blog), that my goal for this race is a sub-2:05. I ran a 2:10 last October with Amy, so I feel like this goal is not to far out of reach. Do I have a sub-2 in me? I don’t know yet, it depends on how training goes. Speaking of training…

I’ve been running consistently for over 5 years now. During this time I’ve tried several different training plans with various success. I’ve run as little as 3 days a week and as much at 5 days a week. I’ve run only easy runs for a training cycle and only hard runs for a training cycle. I’ve done all that to discover my sweet spot for running is 4 days a week following an [easy, hard, easy, long] format each week.

Because I am training specifically to PR, I didn’t want to choose just any training plan. I researched for days, read my old blog posts on plans I’ve used previously, and talked Matt to death about it. Ultimately, I went a completely different direction. I purchased a training plan that was customized to me, my running history, and my current goals. I am using the Run S.M.A.R.T Project with programs developed by Jack Daniels and his elite runners.

ubug55m3

Pricey? Yes. Worth it? So far, yes.

I was super nervous about purchasing this plan because you can’t see what a typical week looks like beforehand. But, I went for it anyway. After filling out a questionnaire, it took about 4 days to get my training plan. At first glance, I was very intimidated. It looked so challenging, and I immediately doubted if I could handle the intensity.

My fears, while still rattling around in the back of my head, were mostly unfounded. I completed the first week today, and I’m happy to report I’m still in one piece and my legs haven’t fallen off. This week was all “easy” runs [2 miles, 5 miles, 3 miles, 7 miles], but next week the fun begins with some intervals and repetition work.

If I want to get faster, I have to run faster. Status quo isn’t going to cut it if my goals are to improve.

Sorry, not sorry.
Sorry, not sorry.

Wish me luck! I don’t know that I will do weekly recaps, but I will definitely be around to talk about my training!

7 thoughts on “2015 Race Plans!

  1. Army Amy May 24, 2015 / 7:21 pm

    Yay! It’s blog official! I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: you’ve got a PR in you. I think trying the new training plan is a good idea. Why not try something new? 4-days a week with some speed work sounds perfect.

    I’m not 100% sold on RLRF yet. My training starts in 3 weeks. Yikes! It’s scary to go after those big goals, but I know it will be so, so worth it when we both have new PRs. 🙂

    Like

    • Julie May 28, 2015 / 11:10 am

      You are right. It will be worth it in the end. If not RLRF, what else are you considering??

      Like

    • Julie June 2, 2015 / 2:52 pm

      Thank you! I’m nervous about stating my goals publicly, but hopefully it keeps me from slacking off!

      Like

  2. Emily @ Out and About June 8, 2015 / 8:44 am

    I’ve heard rave reviews about the Air Force Races! (In general, I think any military-themed race is going to be very well organized.) That is fantastic that you got a personalized training plan. I would be nervous by not seeing any sample weeks beforehand, too. Way to kill that first week of training! I’ve definitely learned that it’s all about taking things one day at a time with these challenging workouts. You are going to crush your goals. Go get ’em!!!

    Like

    • Julie June 20, 2015 / 6:39 pm

      I’ve heard good things about the Air Force Marathon as well. I hope it lived up to the hype!

      Like

  3. Jen June 8, 2015 / 8:31 pm

    This sounds like an awesome race, I know you are going to do great!!! 🙂

    Like

I love hearing from you!

