Two Tone Herringbone Baby Quilt

I can finally share this quilt!

20150228_115424I spent most of February making this quilt for my best friend, Megan. Her baby was born a couple of weeks ago so I can finally show this off!

Megan gave me free rein to do whatever kind of design I wanted, but requested purples and grays. I searched for a while before I finally settled on a two-tone herringbone pattern made of half-square triangles.

20150227_110033

Stats…. 120 half square triangles that finish at 4″. The quilt measured 40″x48″ prewashed.

I quilted it on my home machine using straight lines at varying widths following a chevron pattern. I love dense quilting. I swore when I started this project that I would stitch in the ditch and leave it at that. But, when I actually sat down to quilt, I couldn’t help myself. 🙂

Bindings still aren’t my strength, but I’m getting better at them. I’ve finally found a technique that works for me. I would link back to it, but I don’t remember whose tutorial where I got the strategy.

One last picture for fun!

20150227_110008I have already started my next baby quilt! Can’t wait to share that one with y’all too!

17 thoughts on “Two Tone Herringbone Baby Quilt

  1. artisticsharon June 2, 2015 / 5:38 am

    Love this pattern and the color combo! And that fabric on the back is so pretty (I’m a bit obsessed with polka dot fabrics right now!) Can’t wait to see the next one…

    Like

    • Julie June 2, 2015 / 2:52 pm

      Thank you! I’m still new to quilting, and this is my favorite project so far!

      Like

  2. Pearls Oney June 2, 2015 / 11:50 am

    will you make me one whenever I get preggers?!!

    Like

    • Julie June 2, 2015 / 2:51 pm

      1. Duh.

      2. I freaking love your name on here. Made me smile at the memories!

      Like

  3. Al June 2, 2015 / 7:33 pm

    I really love the colours and the way you quilted it. I’m making my first quilt and the idea of quilting off the seams scares me a little.

    Like

    • Julie June 2, 2015 / 9:56 pm

      My walking foot has a guide, so I was able to follow the seams pretty easily. That helped a ton!

      Like

  4. alyciadianne June 2, 2015 / 8:13 pm

    I can’t tell you how much I love that quilt. It’s perfect

    Like

  5. Samantha June 2, 2015 / 8:50 pm

    I still looooove this quilt!! And I CANNOT wait to see the next one!! 😉

    Like

    • Julie June 2, 2015 / 10:01 pm

      I plan on posting a couple sneak peaks. Maybe on instagram!?

      Like

  6. Jen June 8, 2015 / 8:29 pm

    Wow this is absolutely gorgeous!!

    Like

  7. Meredith Robinson July 5, 2016 / 11:19 am

    Do you have a pattern for this? Or how much fabric you bought?

    Like

    • Julie July 5, 2016 / 11:24 am

      I do! I can email it to you if you like. What’s your email address?

      Like

      • Meredith Robinson July 5, 2016 / 11:29 am

        You are a lifesaver Julie! Thank you so much. I’m trying to figure out the math with two kids begging me to play Legos and a baby who keeps asking for more food. Ha. My math brain is the pits!

        Merelee79@gmail.com

        Like

I love hearing from you!

