Making a Comeback?

A blogging comeback…not a running comeback.

I have a love/hate relationship with blogging. On one hand, I love to talk about running, and, let’s face it, most of my friends and family don’t care to listen after a while. I also enjoy the blogging community. On the other hand, I feel like there is a lot of pressure (real or perceived) to have a “pinterest-able” blog with edited photos and cool graphics. In addition, not posting regularly or on a schedule is apparently frowned upon. Every blog I follow has, at some point, apologized for taking a blogging/social media break, or only posting once last week, or living their life outside the computer. I am also guilty of that, especially as my posts have been so sporadic since moving to Kentucky.  That said, I want to blog and talk about running, but without all the crap. Basically, I don’t care what if my posts are “pinterest worthy” or have regular, unedited iphone photos, or only come once a month. I realize that may not drive a lot of traffic my way, but I’m not doing for a living. So. I do what I want.

As much as I’d love to make this comeback stick (because I miss this space), I’m not going to make any promises. We’ll see how it goes.

How is running going you ask? I don’t think I ever publicly mentioned that I got peer pressured into running a marathon. Well I did. And it’s 4 weeks away. Am I prepared? No. Not even a little bit.

AMHM25_banner_2

Way back when I lived in El Paso, I semi-committed to running the Austin Marathon with two friends after seeing how awesome the 2015 medals were. (Is it sad that all it takes to convince me to run a marathon is a cool looking medal?) Except when it came to actually register, I had serious reservations. Training needed to start at the end of October, but with the wedding, honeymoon, and holidays, I knew I would have a hard time keeping up with the commitment. Also, I now live in Kentucky – a place single digit temperatures are a real thing – and because I know I hate being cold, I didn’t think I would actually get up and go outside to run when temps dropped below 40*.

Despite all of the reasons I had not to run this race, the intense peer pressure (in the form of motivational quotes and an onslaught of text messages) got to me and I signed up. As expected, my training has not gone well. I am SO UNPREPARED! My longest run since October 24 has been 12 miles this past weekend. Yep. I haven’t even run half the distance yet. My plan going forward is to run 15 miles this weekend, 18 miles next weekend, and the cut back to 10ish miles the weekend before the race. Smart? No, probably not. But, hopefully it gets the job done.

Since this is my first marathon, I will get an automatic PR. Ha. I don’t have any goals other than to finish the damn thing and spend time with my favorite running friends. I am looking forward to simply enjoying the experience. Fingers crossed they don’t have to drag me across the finish line.

I love hearing from you!

