Taking a Break from Running

Things that have happened since I last blogged in January:

— I successfully completed the Austin Marathon with one of my best friends in February. It was a perfect weekend. I thought I would be one and done with marathons, but I am already planning to do another…

— After the marathon, I took two weeks off running to give my body and my legs a break. Due to unforseen circumstances, I stopped running altogether in March.

— A week before the Austin Marathon, I found out I was pregnant. I ran the race 6 weeks pregnant! I needed a couple extra walk breaks towards the end, but my baby has already run a marathon. She is pretty much a badass.

440921_219988719_xlarge
At the finish. Let’s just say I looked happier than I felt! 

I always thought I would one of those people who ran right up until they gave birth. That was my plan, and I had every intention of sticking with it. But life doesn’t like when you make plans. Instead, I got thrown a curveball and had to stop running completely.

I was one of the lucky pregnant women to experience Pubic Symphysis Disorder. By the time I was 11/12 weeks, running a slow two miles was enough to put me out of commission for days. The pain was intense. It hurt to walk, get in and out of my car, put on pants in the morning, roll over in bed, etc. As much as I love running, I hated being in that kind of pain even more.

I have been running consistently since 2008/2009. Sure, I’ve taken “breaks” here and there over the past 7 years, but even during the breaks I still ran…just less. It’s a weird feeling to suddenly stop. There were mornings when I would wake up and not know what to do with myself. I resented the strength training and circuit training I replaced running with. I may or may not have cried on several occasions (blaming that on the pregnancy hormones) because I missed running in a way I couldn’t describe. It sounds silly to say now, but it was a hard adjustment to make at the time. This was the biggest reason I stopped blogging. No one wants to listen to me pout because I couldn’t run.

But, there is a light at the end of the tunnel. My baby will be born any day now, and I am counting down the weeks until the doctor clears me to resume physical activity. I have big plans for the next 18-24 months. I have a few goal races in mind, and some running goals to go with them (which I will share in depth in an upcoming blog post). I am really looking forward to this postpartum running journey and seeing where it takes me. Hopefully with a few blog posts documenting it along the way.

Until then, run a couple extra miles for me this week. 🙂

One thought on “Taking a Break from Running

  1. Amy October 17, 2016 / 3:50 pm

    I’m not the only one with running on the brain! You’ve had quite the running break and I know that will continue a little bit longer, but I can already imagine how great you are going to feel when you get started again.

    I so related to your description of resenting the alternate workouts. That’s kinda where I’m at. I want to run but I don’t. I could do something else, but I don’t love anything the way I love running. Nothing does it for me the way running does. Luckily, running (and running friends!) isn’t going anywhere. There’s a lot more running to be had in our futures.

    And I had so much fun remembering Austin. It was such an awesome day! No tacos will ever taste as good as those post-marathon tacos! That race really was easy for the first 17 miles. Haha! And yet somehow, it felt like it was over so fast.

    Last thing, then I’ll carry on: thoughts on running a marathon relay? Not a ton of races do them, but that might be a fun way to experience a race. We certainly have enough runner friends. The downside is that we wouldn’t get to run together. The upside is that we wouldn’t have to run as far. 🙂

    Like

I love hearing from you!

